Jim Thorpe, January 22, 2020 – State Senator John Yudichak (I -Luzerne/Carbon) and State Representative Doyle Heffley (R-Carbon) announced today that eight Carbon County projects will receive $710,000 in state grants through the Monroe County Local Share Account.

“The important state investment made today in public safety, infrastructure improvement and community revitalization will help Carbon County continue to thrive and will improve the quality of life for its residents,” said Senator Yudichak.

“These worthwhile community projects will enhance public safety, economic development, transportation infrastructure and efforts to assist the homeless,” said Rep. Doyle Heffley (R-Carbon). “I worked together with my colleagues in the Legislature to secure this funding and I am pleased we were able to improve the quality of life for all residents.”

The Borough of Lehighton will receive $230,000 in funding for its Waterfront Pedestrian Safety Traffic Calming Improvements Project.

The project includes construction of a six-foot wide walkway along the west side of Lehigh Drive from Main Lane to Veterans Memorial Park and along the south side of Main Lane from Lehigh Drive to Sgt. Stanley Hoffman Boulevard. The project also includes the construction of an ADA ramp and painted crosswalk at North Main Lane and Sgt. Stanley Hoffman Boulevard, the removal of the continuous left-turning lane on Sgt. Stanley Hoffman Boulevard, the installation of long-landscaped curb extensions at the core area of Sgt. Stanley Hoffman Boulevard and Bankway Street and the installation of three crosswalks with curb extensions, pedestrian activated beacon signs and ADA ramps.

“We will utilize these funds to improve overall safety on this roadway for drivers, pedestrians, residents and visitors. We believe Sgt. Stanley Hoffman Boulevard is no longer just a bypass, but has become a vital connection of the Lehigh River, D&L Trail and numerous businesses to our downtown,” said Nicole Beckett, Lehighton Borough Manager.

The Borough of Summit Hill will receive $100,000 in funding on behalf of the Summit Hill Heritage Center. The funding will be used to help make renovations to the center, including new flooring, reconfiguration of the front entrance, electrical upgrades, construction of a new pavilion and concession stand.

“I am proud to support the Summit Hill Heritage Center for this much-needed funding,” said Rep. Jerry Knowles (R- Berks/Carbon/Schuylkill). “These people have worked extremely hard and deserve some added assistance. Through these renovations, residents will be able to use the facility as a community meeting place, while also creating opportunities for outreach to the community through the perpetual home for a Community Food Pantry.”

The following projects were also funded in Carbon County through the Monroe County Local Share Account:

  • Lansford Borough will receive $120,000 in funding for phase II of its Downtown Streetscape Improvement Project.
  • The Borough of Nesquehoning will receive $106, 250 in funding for public safety equipment for the Nesquehoning Police Department. The funding will be used to help purchase a new command vehicle, public and police station surveillance equipment, two license plate readers and five on-board cameras.
  • Banks Township will receive $74,975 in funding for the purchase of a new plow truck.
  • Carbon County will receive $30,000 in funding on behalf of Family Promise of Carbon County. The funding will be used to purchase property to expand homeless shelter services to include an emergency shelter for single women as there is currently no shelter service available for single women within Carbon County.
  • The Borough of Nesquehoning will receive $27,525 in funding on behalf of the Nesquehoning Historical Society. The funding will be used for building upgrades at the Nesquehoning Historical Society Center.
  • The Carbon Chamber and Economic Development Corporation will receive $21, 250 in funding for the dismantling, relocation, and reconstruction of Peter’s One Room Schoolhouse.

LSA funds may be used for economic development, community development and public interest projects in Monroe County and the following counties contiguous to: Carbon, Lackawanna, Northampton, Pike and Wayne.



Brad Hurley – 570-325-3274
Carly Simpson – 717-787-7105